Amazon video ad specs and safe zone
Updated 2026-08-15 · Risk-term list version 2026-08-15c
Amazon video ad specs, in one line: 16:9 — the spec page says "only"; there is no vertical option, up to 45 seconds. Safe zone — Keep text and key elements out of the bottom-right corner; no black, colour or blurred bars.
12 of the 13 fields below come from the official page (opened and linked on 2026-08-15); the rest are marked 🟡 experience-based. We do not invent citations.
Specs are only the entry ticket. What gets an asset rejected is the claims, and each platform words those rules differently — the last section covers this one.
Amazon video ad specs, field by field — and where each number came from
The third column is the provenance of that row. “From official page” means the number is copied from one of the pages under Sources; “🟡 experience-based” means the official page does not state it and this comes from campaign experience — do not cite it as platform policy. Checked 2026-08-15.
| Field | Value | Provenance |
|---|---|---|
| Aspect ratio | 16:9 (square pixel) only — there is no vertical option | from official page |
| Resolution | 1280×720, 1920×1080 or 3840×2160px | from official page |
| Length | 6–45 seconds; the spec page strongly recommends 20 seconds or under | from official page |
| File size | 500 MB or less | from official page |
| File format | .MP4 or .MOV | from official page |
| Frame rate | 23.976 / 23.98 / 24 / 25 / 29.97 / 29.98 / 30fps | from official page |
| Video bitrate | 1 Mbps or higher; the spec page recommends 4 Mbps or higher | from official page |
| Video codec | H.264 or H.265 | from official page |
| Audio | PCM / AAC / MP3; stereo or mono; 96 kbps or higher; sample rate 44.1kHz or higher | from official page |
| Safe area (safe zone) | The spec page’s own wording is to avoid placing text and other important information in the bottom-right corner of the video, where interface elements sit. It gives no pixel figures | from official page |
| Bars and letterboxing | The spec page explicitly says to avoid horizontal or vertical black, colour or blurred bars — forcing a vertical cut into 16:9 hits exactly this rule | from official page |
| Language | The video language must match the marketplace: an English marketplace needs English on-screen text or an English voiceover | from official page |
| Detail-page video (not ads) | The official page requires a Seller Central login, so we did not verify it in this pass. Go by the upload hints in your own back office | 🟡 experience-based |
1 field here has no official source (Detail-page video (not ads)). We did not invent a citation and we did not hide it — go by the platform’s current rules and the upload hints in your own back office.
What this means in practice on Amazon Sponsored Brands: 6–45 seconds, and the spec page strongly recommends 20 or under; the video language must match the marketplace (an English marketplace needs English captions or an English voiceover)
How this platform reads claims
The thing to remember about Amazon is not a spec but the aspect ratio: Sponsored Brands video is documented as "16:9 (square pixel) only" — there is no vertical option. So "shoot 9:16 once and run it everywhere" does not hold here. You need a separate 16:9 cut, and you cannot fake it with bars: the spec explicitly says to avoid horizontal or vertical black, colour or blurred bars. Practically: frame with horizontal headroom and export two versions. On claims, Amazon reviews the ad and the detail page together, so scanning the listing matters more here than anywhere else.
For the actual phrasings — which ones are high risk in this category and what to say instead — see the flagged-term list, or paste your copy into the free checker.
One shoot, two aspect ratios
Cross-platform is the structural difference from the platforms’ own tools: TikTok’s does not leave TikTok, Meta’s does not leave Meta. But the same SKU goes to TikTok Shop, Meta, Shorts, Temu and Amazon. Four of those take 9:16; Amazon Sponsored Brands video is documented as "16:9 only" with no vertical option — so it is one shoot and two aspect ratios, not one cut everywhere.
| Platform | Aspect | Max length | Safe area | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| TikTok / TikTok Shop | 9:16 | 60s | Leave roughly 130px clear at the top and 480px at the bottom; the interaction rail on the right takes about 140px | Land the core message in the first 3 seconds; captions are on by default; AI-generated content must be disclosed by you, and the platform also labels it automatically |
| Meta (Reels and Feed) | 9:16 as the main cut, with a 1:1 delivered as backup | 30s | Keep text, logo and key elements out of roughly the top 14%, the bottom 35% and 6% on each side | Advantage+ crops automatically, so keep key elements centred; also deliver a version that reads with the sound off |
| Temu on-platform | 1:1 and 3:4 | 30s | About 8% margin on all four sides | The product must appear within the first 2 seconds and fill at least 40% of the frame; do not burn price tags into the footage, so the cut survives a price change |
| Amazon Sponsored Brands | 16:9 — the spec page says "only"; there is no vertical option | 45s | Keep text and key elements out of the bottom-right corner; no black, colour or blurred bars | 6–45 seconds, and the spec page strongly recommends 20 or under; the video language must match the marketplace (an English marketplace needs English captions or an English voiceover) |
| YouTube Shorts | 9:16 | 60s | Keep the bottom 15% clear of the title bar | Watch-through carries most of the weight; hold a still final frame for about a second so the loop feels intentional |
The practical version: frame with horizontal headroom, then export two — a 9:16 master (key elements inside the middle 50% of the height, plus a 1:1) and a 16:9 for Amazon. Do not fake the 16:9 with bars: Amazon’s spec page explicitly says to avoid black, colour or blurred bars.
Other platforms
FAQ
When do the Amazon Sponsored Brands numbers go stale?
The platforms’ own pages change. This one stamps the date we opened them (2026-08-15), and lists 3 linked sources below — the ones that self-date their “last updated” let you check the drift yourself. Go by the platform’s current rules before you spend, especially for safe areas, which move with UI redesigns.
Which Amazon Sponsored Brands fields are not officially sourced?
1 of them: Detail-page video (not ads). The official page genuinely does not state these, so they carry the 🟡 mark. Rather than invent a citation, we mark the rows that carry less weight.
Does composing to the Amazon Sponsored Brands safe area waste frame?
On this placement the safe area is: Keep text and key elements out of the bottom-right corner; no black, colour or blurred bars. It costs you some edge and buys one cut that covers most of the five placements. For a seller with many SKUs and a weekly creative refresh, reshooting costs far more than the edge.
Anything else to know before running on Amazon Sponsored Brands?
6–45 seconds, and the spec page strongly recommends 20 or under; the video language must match the marketplace (an English marketplace needs English captions or an English voiceover). That is not a spec — it is the part a platform will not block at upload. A wrong spec costs you time; this kind of mistake costs you the flight.
Do AI-generated assets need a label?
On TikTok, yes — tick the disclosure in Ads Manager or add a clear disclaimer, caption or watermark yourself; undisclosed AI content that is detected gets rejected or restricted. For other placements, go by their current rules; we do not rule on their behalf. Worth saying: we do not make videos. This note is for when you use someone else’s generator.
Sources
- Amazon Ads · Sponsored Brands video ad specs (official spec page) (checked 2026-08-15)
- Amazon Ads · ad specs index (checked 2026-08-15)
- Amazon Ads · Sponsored Brands and display ads moderation guide (checked 2026-08-15)