PreshootFlagged termsFree checkerAd anglesPlatform specsSample plansGuidesComparisonsTemplates中文

TikTok / TikTok Shop ad specs and safe zone

Updated 2026-08-15 · Risk-term list version 2026-08-15c

TikTok / TikTok Shop ad specs: 9:16, up to 60 seconds. Safe zone — Leave roughly 130px clear at the top and 480px at the bottom; the interaction rail on the right takes about 140px.

7 of the 8 fields below come from the official page (opened and linked on 2026-08-15); the rest are marked 🟡 experience-based. We do not invent citations.

Specs are only the entry ticket. What gets an asset rejected is the claims, and each platform words those rules differently — the last section covers this one.

Read this first: markets where the category cannot run

Underwear and shapewear, including bras, thongs, microthongs, underwear, and any kind of shapewear — the policy says "shown on or off a model", so a flat-lay product shot is covered too.

The policy page lists 16 markets by name:

This is a different axis from the risk-term list: the term list governs what you may say, this governs where you may run it at all. Cleaning up the copy does not help — and because it does not surface as a creative rejection, it is easy to misread as "the video is weak" and keep re-cutting. Check the targeting for these 16 markets before you launch. The US, the main market here, is not on the list, but multi-market rollouts hit it.

Source: Other products and services | TikTok Advertising Policies → Underwear, shapewear, and swimwear (page self-dated March 2026), opened and checked 2026-08-15. Go by the platform’s current policy.

The specs, item by item

The third column is the provenance of that row. “From official page” means the number is copied from one of the pages under Sources; “🟡 experience-based” means the official page does not state it and this comes from campaign experience — do not cite it as platform policy. Checked 2026-08-15.

FieldValueProvenance
Aspect ratio and minimum resolutionVertical (recommended) 9:16, at least 540×960px; horizontal 16:9, at least 960×540px; square 1:1, at least 640×640pxfrom official page
File format.mp4 / .mov / .mpeg / .3gp / .avifrom official page
LengthUp to 10 minutes (no limit for Spark Ads)from official page
File size500 MB or lessfrom official page
Bitrate516 kbps or higherfrom official page
Ad captionWhite, fixed typeface; no clickable links, @ mentions or hashtags; Spark Ads pull the original post caption and show at most 4 linesfrom official page
Safe area (safe zone)Roughly 130px at the top, 480px at the bottom and 140px for the right-hand interaction rail — the official spec page does not publish these numbers; estimated from practice🟡 experience-based
AI-generated contentTick "This ad contains AI-generated content" when building the ad, or add a clear disclaimer, caption or watermark yourself; undisclosed AI content is rejected or restrictedfrom official page

1 field here has no official source (Safe area (safe zone)). We did not invent a citation and we did not hide it — go by the platform’s current rules and the upload hints in your own back office.

What this means in practice on TikTok / TikTok Shop: Land the core message in the first 3 seconds; captions are on by default; AI-generated content must be disclosed by you, and the platform also labels it automatically

How this platform reads claims

The line that matters most for shapewear: TikTok's misleading-content policy names before-and-after comparisons that give a distorted impression of results, and uses an instant weight-loss promise as its example. Meta words this differently — do not merge the two into one rule.

For the actual phrasings — which ones are high risk in this category and what to say instead — see the flagged-term list, or paste your copy into the free checker.

One shoot, two aspect ratios

Cross-platform is the structural difference from the platforms’ own tools: TikTok’s does not leave TikTok, Meta’s does not leave Meta. But the same SKU goes to TikTok Shop, Meta, Shorts, Temu and Amazon. Four of those take 9:16; Amazon Sponsored Brands video is documented as "16:9 only" with no vertical option — so it is one shoot and two aspect ratios, not one cut everywhere.

PlatformAspectMax lengthSafe areaNotes
TikTok / TikTok Shop9:1660sLeave roughly 130px clear at the top and 480px at the bottom; the interaction rail on the right takes about 140pxLand the core message in the first 3 seconds; captions are on by default; AI-generated content must be disclosed by you, and the platform also labels it automatically
Meta (Reels and Feed)9:16 as the main cut, with a 1:1 delivered as backup30sKeep text, logo and key elements out of roughly the top 14%, the bottom 35% and 6% on each sideAdvantage+ crops automatically, so keep key elements centred; also deliver a version that reads with the sound off
Temu on-platform1:1 and 3:430sAbout 8% margin on all four sidesThe product must appear within the first 2 seconds and fill at least 40% of the frame; do not burn price tags into the footage, so the cut survives a price change
Amazon Sponsored Brands16:9 — the spec page says "only"; there is no vertical option45sKeep text and key elements out of the bottom-right corner; no black, colour or blurred bars6–45 seconds, and the spec page strongly recommends 20 or under; the video language must match the marketplace (an English marketplace needs English captions or an English voiceover)
YouTube Shorts9:1660sKeep the bottom 15% clear of the title barWatch-through carries most of the weight; hold a still final frame for about a second so the loop feels intentional

The practical version: frame with horizontal headroom, then export two — a 9:16 master (key elements inside the middle 50% of the height, plus a 1:1) and a 16:9 for Amazon. Do not fake the 16:9 with bars: Amazon’s spec page explicitly says to avoid black, colour or blurred bars.

Other platforms

Meta (Reels and Feed)9:16 as the main cut, with a 1:1 delivered as backup · 30sTemu on-platform1:1 and 3:4 · 30sAmazon Sponsored Brands16:9 — the spec page says "only"; there is no vertical option · 45sYouTube Shorts9:16 · 60s

FAQ

When do the TikTok / TikTok Shop numbers go stale?

The platforms’ own pages change. This one stamps the date we opened them (2026-08-15), and lists 4 linked sources below — the ones that self-date their “last updated” let you check the drift yourself. Go by the platform’s current rules before you spend, especially for safe areas, which move with UI redesigns.

Which TikTok / TikTok Shop fields are not officially sourced?

1 of them: Safe area (safe zone). The official page genuinely does not state these, so they carry the 🟡 mark. Rather than invent a citation, we mark the rows that carry less weight.

Does composing to the TikTok / TikTok Shop safe area waste frame?

On this placement the safe area is: Leave roughly 130px clear at the top and 480px at the bottom; the interaction rail on the right takes about 140px. It costs you some edge and buys one cut that covers most of the five placements. For a seller with many SKUs and a weekly creative refresh, reshooting costs far more than the edge.

Anything else to know before running on TikTok / TikTok Shop?

Land the core message in the first 3 seconds; captions are on by default; AI-generated content must be disclosed by you, and the platform also labels it automatically. That is not a spec — it is the part a platform will not block at upload. A wrong spec costs you time; this kind of mistake costs you the flight.

Do AI-generated assets need a label?

On TikTok, yes — tick the disclosure in Ads Manager or add a clear disclaimer, caption or watermark yourself; undisclosed AI content that is detected gets rejected or restricted. For other placements, go by their current rules; we do not rule on their behalf. Worth saying: we do not make videos. This note is for when you use someone else’s generator.

Sources